Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Need to set 20 MHz external crystal to work with Atmega328P

Status
Not open for further replies.

alfie.max15

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I have been working with my micro-controller for the last 2 months and i have had a bitter experience while setting fuse bits. I had to throw away one...

So now i need to work with an external clock of 20Mhz

i have got a 20MHz crystal and while reading the datasheet i have learned i need to connect it to the xtal1 and xtal2 pins of the uC. and i know that i need to use 22pF capacitors on both pins and then put them to ground...

But i dont know the part where i need to tell the uC that it has to work off the external clock

But even after searching the net and reading the datasheet i am not confident enough to try setting the fuse bits to make my uC work with external clock.

Could anyone here help me out? i really need to do this and after this i do have a few more doubts about this... But first can anyone pls help me set my uC to work with 20MHz crystal

Last edited:

try with ponyprog
apply 1Mhz external clock with ground reference to xtal1 pin.
you can easily recover the wrong fuse settings.

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    63.8 KB · Views: 213

Thank you guys so much for helping me understand about resetting fuse bits...

But what i want to achieve here right now is...

I want my atmega328P uC to work with 20MHz crystal
https://www.nex-robotics.com/products/electronic-components/crystal/20mhz-half-size.html