Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Need help with simple Class A amplifier desgin and simulation..

Status
Not open for further replies.

tedzxavier

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi! Good day to everyone! Im a freshman student and i've been working on a project my teacher has given me last friday. He wants me to produce a schematic diagram and a simulation of a Class A amplifier that is a voltage-divider kinda looking with the emitter resistor being bypassed by a cap. The hard part here is the designing part to which i am a newbie. He wants the circuit to have a voltage gain of 4200 & a bandwidth of 20 kHz. The DC source should be 12 V. It's on me (or you) to decide whether BJT or a FET be used as long as the parameters mentioned above can be provided. Lastly, he instructed that if the gain found is less, one can use OP AMP (l have little knowledge on this) for it to be fixed. I will be truly grateful if anyone here can assist me on this problem...Thanks in advance!!!

It would be a lot of gain for a single stage BJT of FET to produce.
What is the required input and output impedance?

He wants the circuit to have a voltage gain of 4200
Hi
A single stage ? with collector resistor or active load ? if with usual load i need to confess that your teacher want that you bring him/her a miracle ! you can harvest that gain with op amp as well but BW will be reduced and noise factor will be increased . and also if you use a single stage active load to do it the result in practice will be so bad because of the limited BW and high value of noise .

What else do you need to hear ?
Best Wishes