Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] What‘s wrong with the simulation result of the very basic RC circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

iamyuchenjie

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Solved (Cadence)What‘s wrong with the simulation result of the very basic RC circuit

Hallo,
I'm an EE student from TU Dresden.
Today I try to simulate some very basic RC circuits. (In spectre of Cadence 5141)
I am totally confused with the results. For example, I drew a very basic source-free RC serial circuit and try to find it's transient response. The circuit is as follow:
schematic.png
But the simulation result is that: the voltage of net3 start from (time 0 ) is 12.5V, instead of the initial condition value I set15V?
sim-result.png
And I also try some other circuits with cap. but all the result is not right according to my understanding. I asked in the edabord, but no reply up to now.
Do you know why? I think the cap from the analoglib (Cadence build-in lib)is the ideal one, isn't it?
Or can u simulate it for me? Just 5 minutes is quite enough I think.
Really thank you!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited:

Hallo,
I'm an EE student from TU Dresden.
Today I try to simulate some very basic RC circuits.
I am totally confused with the results. For example, I drew a very basic source-free RC serial circuit and try to find it's transient response. The circuit is as follow:

But the simulation result is that: the voltage of net3 start from (time 0 ) is 12.5V, instead of the initial condition value I set15V?