+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 112, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    112
    Level
    1

    16x2 lcd display in proteus lacks 2 pins

    Hi! I'm working on with a microcontroller-based speedometer with odometer. I'm simulating the schematic diagram in Proteus but I can't find the 16x2 LCD display with 16 pins. The only thing available is with 14 pins. Can I just used the one with 14 pin? If yes, where am I going to connect the 15th and 16th pins. Thank you so much. :)

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Points: 38,206, Level: 47
    Achievements:
    Created Album pictures Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    alexan_e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    11,893
    Helped
    2093 / 2093
    Points
    38,206
    Level
    47
    Blog Entries
    6

    Re: 16x2 lcd display in proteus lacks 2 pins

    pins 15 and 16 are the back light of a led display (for those who have one) , it serves no purpose in proteus so it is not shown in the model
    Please don't make requests for help in private using PM. Create a thread in the forum so that other members can benefit from the posted answers.

    Consider reading this before posting : How To Ask Questions The Smart Way



  3. #3
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 112, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    112
    Level
    1

    Re: 16x2 lcd display in proteus lacks 2 pins

    Thanks. That's what I also know but because there is no reported error, I thought that may be the reason of having no display at all. If you have spare time, may you look at my schematic and maybe you can see where it goes wrong? I really appreciated your help. Thanks again.

    Here is the schematic that I constructed. I hope someone can find out why there is no display. Thank you so much! :)speedo-odo-meter1.rar

    - - - Updated - - -

    Thanks. That's what I also know but because there is no reported error, I thought that may be the reason of having no display at all. If you have spare time, may you look at my schematic and maybe you can see where it goes wrong? I really appreciated your help. Thanks again.

    Here is the schematic that I constructed. I hope someone can find out why there is no display. Thank you so much! :)speedo-odo-meter1.rar



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Points: 38,206, Level: 47
    Achievements:
    Created Album pictures Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    alexan_e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    11,893
    Helped
    2093 / 2093
    Points
    38,206
    Level
    47
    Blog Entries
    6

    Re: 16x2 lcd display in proteus lacks 2 pins

    In your schematic The output ofthe regulator is shorted to ground (check close to D2) , also the mcu Vcc and GND are not connected.

    Vss of the display should go to gnd and Vdd to 5v
    Please don't make requests for help in private using PM. Create a thread in the forum so that other members can benefit from the posted answers.

    Consider reading this before posting : How To Ask Questions The Smart Way



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  5. #5
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 112, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    112
    Level
    1

    Re: 16x2 lcd display in proteus lacks 2 pins

    Thanks! I'll check my schematic and do the necessary changes. :)



  6. #6
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 112, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    112
    Level
    1

    Re: 16x2 lcd display in proteus lacks 2 pins

    I did the necessary changes but there is still no display. I didn't actually design the circuit. I just found it in the net and now I'm trying to test it using Isis-Proteus if it is working together with the codes so that I can proceed in doing the hardware. That is why I ask about the lcd's pins because in the schematic there are 16 pins. I'm sorry if I'm not making any sense right now but I really hope someone can help. Here is the pdf:
    Speedometer Cum Odometer (1).pdf
    Last edited by joammee; 6th January 2013 at 16:51.



  7. #7
    Administrator
    Points: 38,206, Level: 47
    Achievements:
    Created Album pictures Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    alexan_e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    11,893
    Helped
    2093 / 2093
    Points
    38,206
    Level
    47
    Blog Entries
    6

    Re: 16x2 lcd display in proteus lacks 2 pins

    The missing LCD pins are not the problem, if everything is correct it will work.

    Connect all the power supplies to the chips and check again for wrong connections
    Please don't make requests for help in private using PM. Create a thread in the forum so that other members can benefit from the posted answers.

    Consider reading this before posting : How To Ask Questions The Smart Way



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  8. #8
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 112, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    112
    Level
    1

    Re: 16x2 lcd display in proteus lacks 2 pins

    After the simulation, the log indicated there are missing components such as switch, LED, and battery even though they are in the circuit and connected as specified. I try to reconnect the said missing parts but there is no changes at all. The LCD only lights up with nothing on it.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	circuit.JPG 
Views:	16 
Size:	151.7 KB 
ID:	85334 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	missingparts.JPG 
Views:	9 
Size:	84.1 KB 
ID:	85335



  9. #9
    Administrator
    Points: 38,206, Level: 47
    Achievements:
    Created Album pictures Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    alexan_e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    11,893
    Helped
    2093 / 2093
    Points
    38,206
    Level
    47
    Blog Entries
    6

    Re: 16x2 lcd display in proteus lacks 2 pins

    What that message says is that these components do not have a footprint associated with them, that is only a problem when you try to design a PCB
    Please don't make requests for help in private using PM. Create a thread in the forum so that other members can benefit from the posted answers.

    Consider reading this before posting : How To Ask Questions The Smart Way



  10. #10
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 112, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    112
    Level
    1

    Re: 16x2 lcd display in proteus lacks 2 pins

    Ah, ok. So there's nothing wrong in the circuit yet there is no display? Thanks! I hope it will work when I constructed the hardware.


    1 members found this post helpful.

--[[ ]]--