Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Simple Spartan-3E program simulates well but wont run in hardware....

Status
Not open for further replies.

casiocalcs

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, This is my first post!
I am really new to the world of FPGA and am trying to educate myself from a FPGA prototyping textbook, but came unstuck with one of the early experiments.

The Verilog program is a 2-to-4 binary decoder. The UCF is below. I added the "indicator" signal because I was trying to determine if the enable button is working in hardware.
When the program is loaded to the FPGA, I get no LEDs (LED0-LED3) whatsoever ( I do have the normal power, USB and system LEDs).

I presume that there is a design flaw in my code or UCF. Any constructive advice would be greatly appreciated.

Code:
[syntax=verilog]
module two_2_four(
    input [1:0] in2,
	 input enable,
    output [3:0] out2,
	 output indicator
    );

//internal signals
wire d0,d1,d2,d3;
wire [3:0] enab;

//body
assign out2 = enab & {d3, d2, d1, d0};

//product terms
assign d0 = (~in2[1] & ~in2[0]);
assign d1 = (~in2[1] & in2[0]);
assign d2 = (in2[1] & ~in2[0]);
assign d3 = (in2[1] & in2[0]);
//misc
assign enab = {enable, enable, enable, enable};
assign indicator = enable;

endmodule
[/syntax]
-------------------------------------
Code:
[syntax=verilog]

# Slide switches
NET "in2<0>" LOC = "L13";	#SW0
NET "in2<1>" LOC = "L14";	#SW1

#From Starter-3E user guide
NET "enable" LOC = "D18" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | PULLDOWN ; # Btn West

# LEDs
NET "indicator" LOC = "F9"; 	#LED7

#Format from Starter-3E user guide