Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How do Coaxial Cable 50 Ohm represent ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kevinJen

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Now I need to transfer 13.56MHz sinewave power from Class-E Power Amplifier to 50 Ohm Dummy Load through Coaxal Cable.

I studied about Coaxial Cable and I found something don't understand why .

I study about Coaxial Cable has it own impedance (normally 50 Ohm )

Is it represent It's own resistance of 50 Ohm at certain frequency range?

if it is true , A transmission line has resister on it , is it cause power loss on transmission line itself when current pass through it? why don't use near 0 Ohm cable?

If I make Cable by myself, can I Increase or decrease length for vary the resistance in Coaxial Cable?

I go study wiki but I really don't understand the reality about Cable impedance.

Last edited:

You need to understand transmission lines. I am not sure of the best source explaining it - try this **broken link removed**

While a coax will have some resistance and hence some loss, it is a lot less than 50 ohms. The 50 ohms is the "characteristic impedance". It will have a minimal effect on a 50 ohm terminated signal driven from a 50 ohm source. This will apply at all frequencies (within reason - until "real" effects start to cause unwanted side effects) and at any length.

Keith.

Reactions: IanP

IanP

Helpful Answer Positive Rating