Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Wireless Energy Transfer simulation (inductive coupling power transfer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

habibtomb

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
HELP!!! Wireless Energy Transfer simulation (inductive coupling power transfer)

Hi guys,

Well i am working on a project to transfer wireless energy using two resonating coils, and i would like to simulate different loop types and estimate the EM power transfer, but the problem is that i'm a newbie with simulation software, and acctually i'm confused about which software to use (Ansoft Maxwell, Matlab, Comsol Multiphysics, Solidworks, ... )???

Can anyone please help me with some suggestions and instructions on how to design the model?

Thank you in advance :)

Last edited:

If you understand transformers with loose coupling, and know how to measure or calculate the coupling coefficient between the inductors, you can get your complete simulation in every spice based simulator. Many people use LTspice (that is free and fully functional). Of course when you know the coupling coefficient (or M), you can put your circuit in whatever circuit simulator you prefer (or already have).

If you want to simulate the coupling coefficient, you need an EM simulation package or at least a magnetics simulation package.