+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 716, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Nigeria
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    716
    Level
    5

    How to interface 8051 microcontroller to another 8051 using serial communication

    Hi Everyone, I am new in this forum. I am working on how to transfer data through RF using serial communication. I bought Rf module (KYL500s). it is a transceiver. I first of all tested serial communication between two 8051. it can only work when I connect the ground together. Pls, how do I make it work without connecting the GND together? Also, is there any way I can ensure that my data is not affected by noise? Thank you

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Member level 3
    Points: 1,831, Level: 9
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
    Posts
    57
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    1,831
    Level
    9

    Re: How to interface 8051 microcontroller to another 8051 using serial communication

    when you use two 8051 controllers TX1==>RX2 and ground of both controllers must be connected together then only you can transfer the data,if you want transfer data over long distance using wire you have to use constant current(attenuation of cable increase if distance increases) or if you want to transmit wireless over a short distance you can use IR TX & RX



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 716, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Nigeria
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    716
    Level
    5

    Re: How to interface 8051 microcontroller to another 8051 using serial communication

    Thanks Yogece. You mean when using RF or IR, one does not need to connect the GND together as when one is making a physical connection using cable? I will try that. Has anyone used KYL500s transceivers? I learnt it needs to be configured before it can be used. I need the assembly code for the serial communication using RF. Any help?



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 2,342, Level: 11
    Jigar 4 Electronics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Hamilton, ON, Canada
    Posts
    313
    Helped
    40 / 40
    Points
    2,342
    Level
    11
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: How to interface 8051 microcontroller to another 8051 using serial communication

    you should post this answer over here dear : https://www.edaboard.com/thread264542.html

    And ya if you're using RF or IR then you did not want to connect their ground together.
    Then only it can be wireless ! :)
    Never Leave it until you did it.
    Every time you fails go for one more time :)



  5. #5
    Member level 3
    Points: 1,831, Level: 9
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
    Posts
    57
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    1,831
    Level
    9

    Re: How to interface 8051 microcontroller to another 8051 using serial communication

    i have interfaced 433MHZ RF TX modules directly with the microcontroller to transmit the data serially(Just send the data by using UART of 8051) if the distance between the TX and RX increased when the baud rate is higher,then RX would show junk characters and if the baud rate reduced without any junk character we can receive the data.
    any way you send the datasheet KYL500s



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  6. #6
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 716, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Nigeria
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    716
    Level
    5

    Re: How to interface 8051 microcontroller to another 8051 using serial communication

    Quote Originally Posted by yogece View Post
    i have interfaced 433MHZ RF TX modules directly with the microcontroller to transmit the data serially(Just send the data by using UART of 8051) if the distance between the TX and RX increased when the baud rate is higher,then RX would show junk characters and if the baud rate reduced without any junk character we can receive the data.
    any way you send the datasheet KYL500s
    Thanks Yogece. But my problem is with the rf module (KYL500s). I learnt it has to be configured with the company's software for desired baud rate and channels. i dont really know how to do this. i have the software but there is no manual as to how to go about it - the type of cable required and other things. let me try to upload the data sheet for you. Or you can see it at http://www.ir-data.com



--[[ ]]--