Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] SIMCOM SIM548c-EVB with SIM908C gives wrong Latitude from AT-CGPSINFO=2 command

Status
Not open for further replies.

Johanvz

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone,

I'm new to working with SIMCOM units and I have a question to anyone that knows the SIM908 module. I'm currently working with it on the SIM548C-EVB board and I am getting the wrong GPS latitude reading.

The commands and output:

AT+CGPSSTATUS?
+CGPSSTATUS: Location 3D Fix

OK
AT+CGPSINF=2
2,065540,1564.857861,S,2450.196523,E,1,9,0.918522,1536.112427,M,22.779541,M,,000
OK

Now for the Latitude, the value 1564.857861,S is incorrect? As it is in the format ddmm.mmmmmm but the minutes part is out of range as it should not be more than 60 anyway. Ontop of that, the actual value that I am expecting is 2604.851567,S and not 1564.857861,S. The longitude value is 100% correct.

If I look at the output ont he debug port, the values are all correct, so it is just from the AT command when I query the value that it is incorrect.

Sample from debug UART:

$GPGGA,074001.000,2604.851567,S,02450.202795,E,1,8,1.00,1548.101,M,22.780,M,,*7E
$GPGLL,2604.851567,S,02450.202795,E,074001.000,A,A*45

Any suggestions would be welcome.

Oh, the version info:
AT+GSV
SIMCOM_Ltd
SIMCOM_SIM908
Revision:1137B02SIM908M64_ST

Thanks in advance for you help.

Hello everyone,

I'm new to working with SIMCOM units and I have a question to anyone that knows the SIM908 module. I'm currently working with it on the SIM548C-EVB board and I am getting the wrong GPS latitude reading.

The commands and output: