Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

simulation completed, what next...?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaffry

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear all,

I am relatively new in FPGA practical design, earlier I had expereince of simulation designs for verilog and VHDL
models.

This time I am working on a practical project. For that I have completed my simulation phase and the results are good to be implemented.

Now the implementation phase have arrived and I need guidance in this regard, I have done homework regarding my next steps. but any help would be beneficial and would increase my speed since I have to complete this (and finished and delivered) within 1 1/2 month from now...

My next steps should be (Please provide with a good thorough link or materail as well if can)

1) Static Timing Analysis (Dynamic Timinig analysis- if required)
This is the most time consuming phase I think will be for me. Since I could not understand what clock frequency is best for my design. I have read about timing constraints, but how to find the parameters using reports is difficult. I can also share details what difficulties I find....

2) Place and Route : This Xilinx ISE will do itself based on .UCF file and STA

3) download into fpga: using iMpact. I have idea of this as I have done this several time with small projects like counter, d flipflops etc.

Note : I am using xilinx V6 Fpga board + Xilinx ISE software and Language is Verilog

Best Regards,
Jaffry