Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

IGBT turn on transient issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

yfluo2004

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am a beginner on IGBT. I met a problem when I verify the IGBT turn on threshold with measurement. From the theory, in the turn on transient, the driver circuit charges Cge in the beginning so that Vge increases. As Vge reaches Vth, Ic begins to increase, then because of the Miller capacitance of Cgc, Vge will maintain its value for some time (the miller plateau). Finally, Vge will increase further and the IGBT is fully turned on. This means IGBT will turn on before it enters the miller plateau.
However, in my measurement, the Ic actually begins to increase after the Vge almost comes out of the miller plateau instead of before that. I use a voltage source across Vce with some small value as 10V, and the gate driver output is a step between -7V and 15V.

Can someone help me figure out where is the problem?

Thanks a lot!

YLuo

I guess, your terminology, for Cge is Cgs and Cgc is Cgd.
You can notice maximum miller capacitance effect when IGBT transistor enters the saturation region. In this region your transistor can be expected to give gain greater than unity. This makes your Cgd significantly high at the gate of IGBT.
During your simulation you can see the drop in the input-output characteristics.