+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 4,947, Level: 16

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    oriental
    Posts
    494
    Helped
    5 / 5
    Points
    4,947
    Level
    16

    zero ohm resistor one layer pcb

    Hello all,

    I found 0 Ohm Resistor was really exsisted, but how to use it and at which circumstance?

    Regards!

    Davy Zhu

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 6,562, Level: 19
    pisoiu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    750
    Helped
    43 / 43
    Points
    6,562
    Level
    19

    function of 0 ohm resistor

    Hi,
    Usually they are used in single layer boards for connections which cannot be routed on copper due to density. In other cases, 0 ohm resistors are used as factory switches, when the same pcb board can be equipped in several variants, and particular connections must exist in each variant. Sometimes they are used as fuses.

    /pisoiu



  3. #3
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 6,614, Level: 19

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    386
    Helped
    18 / 18
    Points
    6,614
    Level
    19

    why 0 ohm resistor is used ?

    Hello,

    If you have a system with analogue and digital GND which have different names (AGND/DGND) in the schematic you can use 0 ohm resistors for connection analogue and digital GND.


    Bye,
    cube007



  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 4,947, Level: 16

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    oriental
    Posts
    494
    Helped
    5 / 5
    Points
    4,947
    Level
    16

    what is the use of 0 ohm resistance

    OK, I see, 0 ohm resistor isolate the different net name with the same node, thank you all!

    Davy Zhu



  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 15,991, Level: 30

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,309
    Helped
    59 / 59
    Points
    15,991
    Level
    30

    22 ohm fuse resistor

    0 ohm resistors are often called jumpers.

    For leaded jumpers, you just use a piece of wire.
    For SMD you need to use the same housing as a normal resistor for jumpers.
    That's why you will find 0 ohm SMD resistors in diferent hounsings, but will not see any leaded 0 ohm resistors, but just a wire, often mount on the same roll as the leade resistors.



  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 36,491, Level: 46
    flatulent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    4,629
    Helped
    492 / 492
    Points
    36,491
    Level
    46

    use of zero ohm resistor

    Another use is for a test point. You can remove the resistor and apply a signal generator.



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 15,991, Level: 30

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,309
    Helped
    59 / 59
    Points
    15,991
    Level
    30

    use and application of zero-ohm resistor

    Yet another use is to set make different verisons with the same PCB.
    The 0 ohm resistors could be connected to different pins on for example a microcontoller, to pull pins high or low.
    Diferent combinations of mounted and not mounted jumpers could tell the microcontroller wich version it is.
    When it reads which pins are pulled high and low, it would set up different parameters in the software.

    It could also be used to route signals to diferent points of the board based on which version it was.
    Some verions could have an extra filter and on versions when the filter is not needed a 0 ohm resistor could be mounted to route the signal another way.
    It's much cheaper to make diferent versions of the same board by mounting different combinatoions of components than by making different PCB's.

    A simple way of making a 110v and a 230v version of the same transformer PCB could be to place a 0 ohm resistor either at one place or anoter to route the line voltage to different windings on the transformer.



  8. #8
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 3,366, Level: 13

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    239
    Helped
    14 / 14
    Points
    3,366
    Level
    13

    0ohm resistance value

    Bandalear Resistors can only be used by auto insertion machines not wire links.

    Barrybear



  9. #9
    Member level 2
    Points: 2,300, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    44
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    2,300
    Level
    11

    razz resistor

    Engineers don't like to admit that they had to put a board link on the PCB... so they use a 0 Ohm resistor instead :P Also, I'm sure I've come across leaded 0 Ohm resistors.



  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 15,991, Level: 30

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,309
    Helped
    59 / 59
    Points
    15,991
    Level
    30

    22 ohm resistor on connection

    Quote Originally Posted by seven_segment
    I'm sure I've come across leaded 0 Ohm resistors.
    Maybe, but it's more common just to use a wire, which can also be mounted on the same machines as leaded resistors.

    Maybe some machines can't handle wire pices, so they have to use regular resistor housing.



  11. #11
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 2,807, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    211
    Helped
    4 / 4
    Points
    2,807
    Level
    12

    pcb gnd 0ohm

    Auto insertion machines can not insert bare jumpers. But they can easiliy insert zero ohm resistors.
    Tnx



  12. #12
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 4,947, Level: 16

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    oriental
    Posts
    494
    Helped
    5 / 5
    Points
    4,947
    Level
    16

    why zero ohm resistor is used?

    Oh, it's not leaded resistors but SMT resistors. But any difference between these two type 0 Ohm resistors?

    Regards,

    Davy Zhu



  13. #13
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 15,991, Level: 30

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,309
    Helped
    59 / 59
    Points
    15,991
    Level
    30

    why use 0 ohm resistors

    Quote Originally Posted by atmaca
    Auto insertion machines can not insert bare jumpers. But they can easiliy insert zero ohm resistors.
    Tnx
    Some machines can I beleive.



  14. #14
    wang.mickey
    Guest

    Re: Why use 0 Ohm Resistor

    for testting debug and current measurement etc.



  15. #15
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 1,856, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    105
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,856
    Level
    10

    Re: Why use 0 Ohm Resistor

    Quote Originally Posted by davyzhu
    Oh, it's not leaded resistors but SMT resistors. But any difference between these two type 0 Ohm resistors?

    Regards,

    Davy Zhu
    I think, peak Votage and Current.
    Good good study, Day day up!



  16. #16
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 2,969, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    P.R.C
    Posts
    123
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    2,969
    Level
    12

    Re: Why use 0 Ohm Resistor

    i think it will improve the routing of PCB sometimes. and sometime it is for test.



  17. #17
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 5,357, Level: 17
    Fom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    633
    Helped
    82 / 82
    Points
    5,357
    Level
    17

    Re: Why use 0 Ohm Resistor

    I don't recommend to use 0 ohm resistor in schematic for separation of different nodes. As a result later you will get convergence problem during simulation. Use vdc=0V instead.



  18. #18
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 15,991, Level: 30

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,309
    Helped
    59 / 59
    Points
    15,991
    Level
    30

    Re: Why use 0 Ohm Resistor

    Quote Originally Posted by Fom
    Use vdc=0V instead.

    Can you get this in both leaded and SMD housing?



  19. #19
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 3,506, Level: 13

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    155
    Helped
    9 / 9
    Points
    3,506
    Level
    13

    Re: Why use 0 Ohm Resistor

    The 0 ohm resistor is used as a fuse.



  20. #20
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 4,308, Level: 15

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    230
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    4,308
    Level
    15

    Re: Why use 0 Ohm Resistor

    I read all your posts but there is another reason for connecting 0 Ohm resistor That is:
    In high frequencies and according to the track length and the dielectric constant of your PCB and cupper thickness some times you need matching resistance; but you don't know If you will need it or not and If yes what will be its value ?
    In one of my designs I had to put 0 ohm resistance because I don't know if I will need matching resistance or not on a certain track .
    In the first production I didn't need it so I put 0 ohm but when I just changed the PCB manufacture I discovered that I need to change the 0 Ohm to 22 ohm to make the board work correctly!


    1 members found this post helpful.

--[[ ]]--