Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help w 12 VDC power supply design

Status
Not open for further replies.

vanchopski

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'll just let everyone here know first off that I'm a complete rookie at electronics which is exactly why I'm here requesting help with what for you folks is likely a simple project design.

I'm desinging a prototype device that I hope will improve the performance of a kitchen appliance. The prototype includes a microprocessor that controls both the appliance and an external device.

I'm hoping to be able to power the microprocessor and the device both from the appliance's power supply.

- the microprocessor requires 5 VDC @ 1A but has an onboard regulator that can handle up to 12 VDC
- the external device requires 12 VDC at 25 mA

I found a schematic that supplies 9 VDC from 120 VAC input and I was wondering if it could be easily modified to supply 12 VDC @ 1A.

Info on the main components:

- Hammond 161D12 transformer, Series output 12.6 VAC @ 70mA, Parallel output 6.3 VAC @ 140 mA
- B80C800G bridge rectifier, https://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/61892/GE/B80C800G.html
- 7809 voltage regulator, **broken link removed**

Can anyone explain what would have to be altered with this design?

Attachments

• 9Vpsu.jpg
    9Vpsu.jpg
    46.8 KB · Views: 79

Hi dear vanchopski
Yes , you can !
You have some ways :
1- try to use some resistors at ground of that regulator and out put of of that to increase it's voltage .
2- try to change 7809 to 7812 and add a transistor .
and ....etc.