Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to connect a camera and WiFi module using a PIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

orienz

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello guys,

First I wanna say congratulations on great community here and great forum. I read lots of threads that helped me a lot with some problems. This is my first post. I would also like to mention that i am a total beginner so if I say something stupid please forgive me. I am trying to learn stuff.

Here is my question:

We are trying to remotely (over TCP) turn on a small motor that will drive a mechanical part of the machine that is not really important here. Now I wanted to use one of the PIC16F series controllers (preferrably PIC16F886) to do this. I found many WiFi modules with UART interface and implementing this would be pretty simple. I was thinking to talk to the remote server by sending ASCII commands to WiFi module (which already has TCP/IP stack built in and handles everything connection-wise). I would turn the motor on/off through some kind of MOSFET driver or something.

However we want to expand our project by connecting a simple JPEG snapshot Camera that also has UART interface. My question is now how do I handle connecting two modules? Do I need a chip with two UART interfaces or something? Will PIC16F series be able to buffer images from Camera and send them to WiFi module? This is a VERY small camera with like 1 picture per 2 seconds frame rate or something. Resolution is also very small but it suits us pretty ok since it does not have to be anything advanced.

Thank you for your inputs!