Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Secured Wireless Connectivity

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sjuan

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am no engineer but I do have a concept that I am pursuing which begs the question:

Is it possible to have a master device which connects to only a particular type of slave devices? Its a little difficult for me to explain but by example this is what I mean:

Lets say that a cell phone brand-say Apple- came up with some technology that they wish to be exclusive to their iPhone device, this iPhone for whatever reason would need to have the capability of linking with various master devices in varying locations where any owner of an iPhone would have the capability of linking to these master devices. The master devices therefore, would need to be programmed to only recognize and be compatible with iPhone devices.

I know that WIFI works similar to this, automatically synching with a device once the WEP key has been programmed from master to slave but is there a way that a specified group of devices could immediately be recognized to synch with a master without having to provide a special code to be synched? Perhaps a microchip type that would immediately be recognized upon entering the range of the master? I ask this because my product must be exclusive technology that could not simply be taken advantage of by today's average smart phone.

Any advice with this matter would be greatly appreciated:)

Hmm. Given the constraints of no shared codes, the short answer is "not really".