Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Guidance for a career in VLSI

Status
Not open for further replies.

praneethyvs

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone,

I am new here. I am planning to pursue Masters in VLSI in United States. Prior to going there I would like to do some sort of certification course in the related field. Also I would like to know all the tools required for mastery in VLSI. So far I have learned VHDL programming. I am no expert in it but have a working knowledge of the software. Also I am acquainted with tools like PSPICE and have a working knowledge of MATLAB.

Any suggestions for me regarding a good start in VLSI domain are most welcome. Also please do comment on the prospects of a VLSI graduate from a decent US university. I would like to know the job prospects both in US as well as India. Please do comment.

Thank you all in advance.

Job opportunities in US for VLSI masters is more. As soon as you finish your first year you will get internship in any company for sure. But first decide in which area you are interest in, front-end or back-end and then start your course according to that. Verilog is essential for front end part. System verilog will be an added advantage. For back-end, be clear in theoretical concepts from floor plan to GDS.
Cadence and Synopsys are the two major tool vendors for semiconductor industry.
Cadence tool for
front-end --> nc sim
synthesis --> RTL compiler (rc)
Physical Design --> SoC encounter
DFT --> Encounter test
STA --> ETS
Regarding universities, your GRE score will help you a lot. Plan and prepare for that.

Hello everyone,