Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Boost converter feedback

Status
Not open for further replies.

mavrik2k

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hello everyone. i am new to boost converters and trying to build one.

i have heard that boost converters in feedback have really a stability issue

but i am unable to really find and good explanation and text on it. can any one please help

You're probably referring to the right half plane zero which occurs in every boost and buck-boost derived converter. It's like a normal LHP zero, where gain starts increasing at 20dB per decade. But unlike a normal LHP, where you get 90 degrees of phase lead, you get 90 degrees of phase lag with the RHP zero. This is pretty much impossible to compensate, and normally forces the bandwidth of the converter to be lower than the RHP zero frequency.

Dear mavrik2k
Hi
I suggest you to read these terrific books! :Switching power supply design by: abraham i pressman . or switching power supply cookbook by marty brown .
Best Wishes
Goldsmith

Dear all thanks alot for the comment
i will definitely look into the books.

regards

Hello every body thanks for the help. now i understand the RHPZ. but can any body tell me if we have a constant Turn off time ? would that be eliminated ?

Constant off time modulation increases the frequency of the RHP zero, but does not eliminate it. As far as I know, it can't be eliminated.

Hi Thanks for the reply.
Is there any paper or literature supporting the idea of fixed turn off, it would be a great help.
thanks

This white paper from venable praises it pretty heavily: