+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member level 3
    Points: 894, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    67
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    894
    Level
    6

    Resetting a LCD in 4 bit mode

    I am trying to use a LCD in 4 bit mode to display a clock and it works well but LCD shows strange charactors once PIC is reset by using MCLR pin. I should reset power of both PIC and LCD to bring LCD back to normal. Can some one please explain how above problem can be solved ?

    I am using Assembly language.

    thk

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 260,253, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,447
    Helped
    13828 / 13828
    Points
    260,253
    Level
    100

    Re: Resetting a LCD in 4 bit mode

    I should reset power of both PIC and LCD to bring LCD back to normal.
    Does it work?

    I assume that you are using an industry standard Hitachi HD44780 compatible LCD. The dataheet has detailed instructions how to perform a reset without cycling the LCD power.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Member level 3
    Points: 894, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    67
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    894
    Level
    6

    Re: Resetting a LCD in 4 bit mode

    I am using TOPWAY LMB162AFC LCD module. I went through the data sheet but it was not clear to me how to do it.

    thk



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 260,253, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,447
    Helped
    13828 / 13828
    Points
    260,253
    Level
    100

    Re: Resetting a LCD in 4 bit mode

    You better refer to the original Hitachi datasheet It's available on the internet.


    2 members found this post helpful.

  5. #5
    Member level 3
    Points: 894, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    67
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    894
    Level
    6

    Re: Resetting a LCD in 4 bit mode

    thks lot. required information are avilable there.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 20,490, Level: 34
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Prime Meridian
    Posts
    3,056
    Helped
    893 / 893
    Points
    20,490
    Level
    34

    Re: Resetting a LCD in 4 bit mode

    Hi,

    You will find these LCD assembler tutorials helpful.

    EPE FAQs & Resources

    PIC Tutorial* Three - LCD Modules


    1 members found this post helpful.

  7. #7
    Member level 3
    Points: 894, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    67
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    894
    Level
    6

    Re: Resetting a LCD in 4 bit mode

    I tested circuit after doing changes . Now working well. Thank you all.



--[[ ]]--