Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how do I bias this chip? wierd chip...

Status
Not open for further replies.

sharkies

Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
This chip is weird. PDF is attached.
It only has negative supply and gnd.
According to the datasheet VCC=gnd, and VEE=-5V
there is no positive supply though.. hmm..

Can I just connect VCC to 5V and VEE to gnd?
Afterall, it's only the differential voltage that matters right?
I have seen chips with both positive/negative supply and gnd.
This is my first time seeing a chip with just negative supply and gnd.

Attachments

• sy10-100e136.pdf
    95.8 KB · Views: 106

Yes you can but from the data sheet it looks like it might use MECL technology so the logic levels and directions of current flow at the input pins might not be compatible with standard parts.

Brian.

This chip is a member of the ECL 100K series family, which by standard uses a negative power supply -- you'll find the reason in the linked wiki article.

Can I just connect VCC to 5V and VEE to gnd?
Yes, you can, and it will work. Just care about input and output signal levels.

You apparently missed the SY10/100E136 specification of logic level as ECL or PECL on the fast logic product page on Micrel web site. Both are well defined industry standards. PECL means, that the chip can be operated with positive supply as well. Level conversion may be necessary, depending on the interfaced logic. You didn't tell however, what you want to connect to the device.