Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ADS beginners question

Status
Not open for further replies.

themaccabee

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I'm just a beginner in ADS. Im using the version ADS 2009 & currently working in board level RF circuits.
As a first example i would like to build a simple Low pass filter in ADS.I build it using ideal components & obtained the S11 & S21 parameters.
Now i need to replace my capacitors with ATC type & inductors with coil craft type. Then i need to generate a Layout using that schematics..

But i've not that much idea in how to work with PCB inside ADS.
I've got a design kit from coil craft and installed the same..

Now i can add schematic symbols by selecting the appropriate palette. But when i try to generate layout inside ADS..its saying SMT_pad not defined using default pad dimensions..

further reading i understood that if i define an SMT_Pad element it will be used to generate the layout..Its is ok for me incase of resistors & caps like 0603 ,0805 etc dimensions

My question is whether the coil craft models doesn't include the layout dimensions.?? OR shall i ve to create an SMT pad all the time..?

Then how to do with other common packages like say SOT23,SC70 etc .?

or In short Can somebody tell me hows the procedure in ADS from schematic to layout in case of SMD components..
Thanks,