Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Turnstile Antenna in CST MWS: Quadrature Feed and Weird Results

Status
Not open for further replies.

marholm

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everybody,

I'm new to CST and I've run into a few problems. I'm going to simulate a turnstile antenna for 437 MHz consisting of two crossed half-wavelength dipoles with 2 cm feed gap. One along the x-axis and the other along the y-axis, so the maxima is supposed to be in the z-direction. I've made one (discrete) port for each dipole and performed the transient analysis to obtain the far-field simulations.

Q1: My first problem is that I don't know the port impedance. I saw another guy just put it to 73 ohms while making a simple dipole but suppose you do not know the impedance. What do you do then? I tried to put a current source of 1A at both ports instead. I got the warning "Balance is not available for all excitations." What does this mean?

I read somewhere that in order to simulate the antenna pattern when the two dipoles are fed in quadrature you simply execute the transient solver, which will then perform transient analysis on each dipole subsequently, and then you combine the results afterwards.