+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Newbie level 5
    Points: 556, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    karachi
    Posts
    10
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    556
    Level
    5

    Conversion of MATLAB (.m) coding into Verilog HDL

    Dear All

    I am doing a project in which i have to convert image encryption MATLAB code into Verilog HDL language code and then implemented it on DE2 Board. I have already searcehd a lot of questions regarding this matter but every one said that you have to write MATLAB code either into Embedded MATLAB code or on Simulink. My question is that is this possible that i write a code in simple MATLAB coding means in .m extension (not on Simulink or in Embedded MATLAB code) and convert it into Verilog HDL Langugae. Because i have only .m extension MATLAB code to convert.

    Looking forward for a positive response and thanking all in advance.

    Thanks Regards

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 2,765, Level: 12
    moonnightingale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    362
    Helped
    5 / 5
    Points
    2,765
    Level
    12

    Re: Conversion of MATLAB (.m) coding into Verilog HDL

    if you want to convert a matlab code into VHDL or verolig , you must write it in embedded matlab form



  3. #3
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 458, Level: 4

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    pakistan
    Posts
    2
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    458
    Level
    4

    Re: Conversion of MATLAB (.m) coding into Verilog HDL

    You can also use Simulink for this purpose but for this you have to write a new code. In my opinion you can't convert the already made code into HDL language.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 3,441, Level: 13
    shitansh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    India-Gujarat
    Posts
    296
    Helped
    51 / 51
    Points
    3,441
    Level
    13

    Re: Conversion of MATLAB (.m) coding into Verilog HDL

    Yes,

    You can write your mat-lab code in verilog, for that you has to understand your mat-lab code in terms of hardware and then you has to design architecture of similar functionality and then you can write you rtl code.

    Hope you get the point.

    Regards,
    Shitans Vaghela


    1 members found this post helpful.

  5. #5
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 207, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    2
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    207
    Level
    2

    Re: Conversion of MATLAB (.m) coding into Verilog HDL

    Quote Originally Posted by shitansh View Post
    Yes,

    You can write your mat-lab code in verilog, for that you has to understand your mat-lab code in terms of hardware and then you has to design architecture of similar functionality and then you can write you rtl code.

    Hope you get the point.

    Regards,
    Shitans Vaghela
    Hi Shitans,

    I'm now working on a project which requires conversion of Matlab code (Golden ref) to Verilog code.
    I understand that it is easier to convert Matlab -> Embedded Matlab -> Verilog.
    But is there some doc or website that speaks about one to one correlation between Matlab and Verilog constructs?

    Thanks.
    Madhu



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  6. #6
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 3,441, Level: 13
    shitansh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    India-Gujarat
    Posts
    296
    Helped
    51 / 51
    Points
    3,441
    Level
    13

    Re: Conversion of MATLAB (.m) coding into Verilog HDL

    Fortunately there is no document, the easiest way.

    First understand functionality of mat-lab code and then think in terms of hardware and write HDL code accordingly.

    Regards,
    Shitansh Vaghela



  7. #7
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 207, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    2
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    207
    Level
    2

    Re: Conversion of MATLAB (.m) coding into Verilog HDL

    Oh I see..

    Thanks anyway



--[[ ]]--