Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Project ideas for Parallel Programming. Target area- signal, image process, FFT etc

Status
Not open for further replies.

delon

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, I am taking a parallel programming course with X10 language developed by IBM. We need to work on a parallel programming project
for the whole semester. I am brainstorming from the first day of the class to come up with a project proposal. I would appreciate if anyone share some project ideas with me.

My background is Electrical Engineering and we can choose project from ANY field. As I am not a CS guy, it'll be hard for me to select a
project on AI or the related core CS field. So, I am thinking about choosing a topic from digital signal or image processing related area. As
an example, I think, implementing FFT in parallel will be one tentative area.

Please help me with your expertise. Thanks in advance!

Hi delon,

Image processing frequently requires sequential processing ( decoding, enhancing, segmentation, classification ) and not parallel processing.
FFT also doens´t requires too much processing, regardless if at realtime.

So, at first sight, I could sugest you implement some distributed mainframe ( as done at Grid Computing ).

+++

Reactions: delon

delon

Helpful Answer Positive Rating