Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Circuit to count pulses and output true while pulses per second >= n?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonreir

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

I didn't see a place to introduce myself, so I'll just do it here. Please skip ahead to the next paragraph if you want to go straight to the content. My name is Matt and I'm a computer programmer by trade (C#). My current interest in electronics has mainly to do with my vintage motorcycle, though I did take a digital electronics class about 15 years ago. I'm very much an electronics newbie at the moment but I'm hoping that will change after some hands-on time with a decent project. Hopefully what I've decided to tackle for my first project isn't too ambitious.

My first project is related to my motorcycle. I have an external oil pump that I want to automatically trigger to turn on (and stay on) so long as my engine is running at 6000 RPM or more. My initial thoughts are to use an input from a wire wrapped about a spark plug lead (or even the coil itself) and rely on inductance to generate a pulse which I can then count. As the engine is four stroke, the spark plug will only fire every other revolution and so I need my output condition to be true so long as the input is generating 50 (or more) pulses per second. The output would then trigger a relay to turn on my oil pump. When the RPMs fall back below the 6000 mark, the pump would then turn off.