+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 947, Level: 6

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    947
    Level
    6

    HFSS Intersection between Substrate and Feed Line

    Hi,

    Im getting a problem in my design that I cant simulate with an error tells intersection between substrate and feed pin. Does anyone know if there is settings for allowing the intersection because the pin should connected to the patch element and go through the substrate.



    Thanks. :)

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 2,355, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    177
    Helped
    49 / 49
    Points
    2,355
    Level
    11

    Re: HFSS Intersection between Substrate and Feed Line

    You need to subtract the substrate where you pin goes.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 947, Level: 6

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    947
    Level
    6

    Re: HFSS Intersection between Substrate and Feed Line

    thanks for the reply mate. i tried to subtract but it will eventually cut the top patch as well. any ideas how?



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 2,355, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    177
    Helped
    49 / 49
    Points
    2,355
    Level
    11

    Re: HFSS Intersection between Substrate and Feed Line

    You can make the pin length just reach your patch, not intersecting.



  5. #5
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 3,285, Level: 13

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    land of the free
    Posts
    345
    Helped
    194 / 194
    Points
    3,285
    Level
    13

    Re: HFSS Intersection between Substrate and Feed Line

    Go to HFSS -> Design Settings and enable material over-ride. This will cause all metals to automatically have precedence over dielectrics without subtraction. Much easier.

    Have Fun



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  6. #6
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 947, Level: 6

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    947
    Level
    6

    Re: HFSS Intersection between Substrate and Feed Line

    Phytech -> i tried that, but it still the same error. Thx btw. ;)

    tallface65 -> That works well. Didnt notice that design settings before.

    Thanks for the replies :)



--[[ ]]--