Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Beginner wanted a delay timer trigger with 555 timer.

Status
Not open for further replies.

boons

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone!

I have the following scenario.
When a 9v battery is switch on, it waits 5 seconds, then a reed relay is activated.

I am a complete beginner in this so please explain to me as if I'm an idiot.

I only know about capacitor, relays, and diodes at this point.
Am I making any sense?

thank you,

boons

You can use a 555 timer in a monostable mode to get the desired effect. Check out this page, under monostable, and using the circuit modification mentioned in "Power-on reset or trigger" (cap in parallel with power switch)
555 Timer circuits

The basics of why this works is detailed in he Power-on reset section, but the principle is an R-C charging circuit. A series resistor and capacitor can create a voltage-based delay. The resistor slows down how quickly the capacitor can charge up. As the charge in the cap slowly builds, it's voltage rises. When the voltage hits a certain level, you can sense it and use it as a trigger (that's what the 555 timer is doing... sense voltage level and triggers).

An R-C charge circuit will reach 63% of the final voltage within 1 time-constant, which is defined as tau=R*C. So if you have a 5V supply, R=2Meg and C=2.5uF, then the capacitor will reach 63%*5V = 3.15V in tau=2000000*0.0000025 = 5 seconds. I'm assuming the trip-point of the 555 is 3.15V, which should be pretty close. You can pick any value of R & C, and experiment with the length of the delay.

hello there enjunear!