Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problem with understanding a datasheet

Status
Not open for further replies.

luckyvictor

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi

CC2500 datasheet
I am a student and I am now working on a project with CC2500, I have some questions regarding the basics of the CC2500.

1. Frequency range 2400 - 2483.5 MHz, what does it really mean? does it mean that the carrier frequency is in between this range please?

2. Programmable data rate from 1.2 to 500kBaud, what is this data rate please?

3. The data which the CC2500 transmits out in wireless is coming from the SPI interface, which has a limit max frequency, so does it mean that my input data rate is limited by this frequency? does this data rate have any relationship to the questions I asked above please?

4. Let say now I have some information wants to be transmitted, and I know this data rate is 200kbps, is this chip able to transmit it? what parameters are needed to be consider in order to derive the max data rate of my information?

Thank you in advance first, and sorry for my silly questions

Luckyvictor,

First of to clear something up eith regards "baud" and "data rate" they are two seperate measurments.

Baud is "symbols per second" on/in the communications channel.

Data rate is the number of bits or Bytes of information that goes through the communications system.