Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Sub-optimal Logic Synthesis in Encounter RTL Compiler

Status
Not open for further replies.

trav1s

Full Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to Encounter RTL Compiler and I have created a simple circuit in Verilog in order to gain more understanding of the environment. The circuit is a 2-bit down-counter and this is the code used:

module down_counter(out, clk);
output [1:0] out;
input clk;
reg [1:0] out;
always @(posedge clk)
begin
out <= out - 1;
end
endmodule

The most optimal way to implement such a counter is by simply using two positive-edge DFFs, where each DFF is a bit of the counter (bit 0 and bit 1). Both DFFs use their own inverted output as D input. The bit 0 DFF recieves clk input from the external clock. The bit 1 DFF recieves clk input from the noninverted output of the bit 0 DFF. In short, it is not necessary to completely understand this paragraph; it is only important to know that the optimal design requires 2 DFFs and no additional logic.

However, this is not the result after logic synthesis in Encounter RTL Compiler.
My procedure has been as follows:
Set library attribute to a library containing a positive-edge DFF cell (dff_c2mosD)
Elaborate
Synthesize to generic
Synthesize to mapped

After synthesizing, even with a high effort level the following circuit is produced:

synthesizeddowncounter2.gif