Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

HF RFID tag (antenna)

Status
Not open for further replies.

!! the phoenix law !!

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,
I am designing something like HF RFID tag (13.56M), my target right now is to collect the transmitted energy, rectify the tag antenna output and generate a DC level to supply my forthcoming circuit
I have no idea how to deal with the coil antenna design, theoritically i studied some in depth courses in my faculty hence the concpets are not a problem, the problem is that i can not use this info for practical implementation
So, would you please guide me with this?
First, i need a good simulator
second, i need a general list to the parameters of interest
third, it would be sooooo great if there were any example cuz unfortunately i can not find any on the web
Thanks

A important design part is to tune the antenna impedance so it effectively can transfer energy from antenna to receiver and rectifier. For that must your receiver/rectifier impedance be known. Proposals how to tune and impedance match similar coil antennas can be found at a lot of HAM-sites or ARRL.
It is possible to simulate the antenna but antenna impedance must be calculated for a certain distance (near field) for best result.
Check homepages of RFID chip vendors as they usually have some application examples, including antenna.

Ok, I can assume a parallel RC for the load right now with reasonable values
So we can view the circuit like : atenna->matching->Load
I am confused which to start with ? matching or antenna ?