+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 1,546, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    2
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    8

    Starting DSP

    Hi!

    I've recently started electronics as a hobby, and after doing some PIC stuff, I want to try DSP coding (mainly for audio). I've been looking around on the net, mainly (manufacturer-wise) at Microchip's, TI's and Analog Devices' websites, trying to decide which DSP chip I want to use. However, the problem is (and I know this is going to sound silly), since I'm a begginner, I'm doing all my construction on breadboards (so far), and I don't want to buy a prototyping board, I need (I think) a chip that comes in DIP or PDIP packaging. Which seems to be none of the DSPs I want. Can anyone recommend a solution to my problem. eg. a DIP chip that I can just stick on my breadboard, adaptor sockets or something else.

    (oh yeah, regarding a programmer for it, I feel, given the programming spec for a chip, I could build a simple serial-port programmer for it with a PIC)

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 2,287, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    96
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    2,287
    Level
    11

    Re: Starting DSP

    I would like to add to this, since maybe it will help Doogle and myself...

    PC soundcards are more than capable today, some with 96k sample rates. Is there a site with code / tutorials on getting started with DSP programming using sound cards?



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Member level 2
    Points: 2,111, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    44
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    2,111
    Level
    10

    Re: Starting DSP

    I would like to suggest Microchip dsPIC30F2010-20E/SPG.

    You can also get free sample from them. To get more details check out this link -
    http://www.microchip.com/stellent/id...cName=en010329

    Only problem is the ICD2 is expensive.

    cheers.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Member level 3
    Points: 1,890, Level: 10

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    65
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,890
    Level
    10

    Starting DSP

    I suggest TI tms320vc54x serials, its ratio of capability and price is the best to the voice process.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  5. #5
    Member level 3
    Points: 2,095, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    66
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    2,095
    Level
    10

    Re: Starting DSP

    I'd suggest you go for either TI's or Analog Devices' stuff: they are the mainstream DSP players, now and for long time to come. DSPic is just a microcontroller with added features, not really a DSP.

    If you just need the features of a microcontroller with added features, you'd better go for Motorola's 56F800 series (although I really don't like it too much). With TI and ADI you'll always find REAL DSPs with microcontroller features: PWM, ADC, etc.

    For TI, try to find out within the C2000 family.
    For ADI, go for either the ADMC or ADSP-2199x families.

    JaaC



  6. #6
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 1,546, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    2
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    8

    Re: Starting DSP

    All the Analog and TI DSPs seem to be in packages with more pins than I have holes on my breadboard. I know I might be trying to run before I can walk, and it seems that what I'm looking for (semi-powerful DSP in a DIP or PDIP package) might not exist. My soldering is bad enough without having to try to solder 100+ pins just to try out a DSP (as I can't really afford a prototyping board).

    If someone can offer an alternative solution to my problem that'd be great. It doesn't *have* to be a DIP chip. maybe someone makes a cheap (cost of DSP + a tiny bit more) 'interface' board for a DSP, so that most of the control and logic is taken care of and I just need to connect a few lines instead of 100+, but is cheap enough that I can buy another one for each project (so not a prototyping board).



  7. #7
    Member level 3
    Points: 2,095, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    66
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    2,095
    Level
    10

    Re: Starting DSP

    If using through hole parts is your only option, then do a more thorough search about DSPic.

    Regards,

    JaaC



  8. #8
    Member level 1
    Points: 1,687, Level: 9

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    39
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,687
    Level
    9

    Re: Starting DSP

    Quote Originally Posted by jimbies
    I would like to suggest Microchip dsPIC30F2010-20E/SPG.
    I would suggest dsPIC as well. But I think dsPIC is still new. Not much application notes.



  9. #9
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 2,409, Level: 11

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lima, Perú
    Posts
    145
    Helped
    10 / 10
    Points
    2,409
    Level
    11

    Re: Starting DSP

    [/quote] DIP chip that I can just stick on my breadboard, adaptor sockets or something else.

    If you are looking for a kind of connector to "transform" chips into DIP, try "machine tooled" on jameco.com

    There are some sockets that u would like there.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  10. #10
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 2,409, Level: 11

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lima, Perú
    Posts
    145
    Helped
    10 / 10
    Points
    2,409
    Level
    11

    Re: Starting DSP

    Sorry for that quote thing, just learining to use that.....

    it should have bee the first part a quote and the sdecond the real thing... sorry

    Look for Machine tooled on jameco or some other electronics supliers, they are not expensives either.



  11. #11
    Member level 3
    Points: 2,095, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    66
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    2,095
    Level
    10

    Re: Starting DSP

    Are they available for 100 LQFP packages? I'd love to see that!!!

    JaaC



  12. #12
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 8,862, Level: 22

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,435
    Helped
    64 / 64
    Points
    8,862
    Level
    22

    Re: Starting DSP

    I came across this japaneese site ..This guys has some DSP projects that you can do and he uses a simple AVR and amanzingly also a small DRAM
    this project can be migrated to a lot of cpus (better to use on with a harware multiplier like the cygnal ).. with a little more power ..But to start doing DSP is starting point !
    you can learn to do
    DELAY
    ECHO
    PITCH CONVERSION
    PITCH MODULATION
    FILTER
    BALANCE MODULATION

    http://elm-chan.org/works/vp/report.html



--[[ ]]--