Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What are the differences between Signal ground, Chasis ground and Earth??

Status
Not open for further replies.

the_owl

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi, i am new to circuit design.
Can anyone explain for me what what are the differences between Signal ground, Chasis ground and Earth?? I have read quite a number of articles online but still not really understand.

They are all connections to the same place, a point of zero voltage but with different purposes:

Signal Ground is a reference point from which that signal is measured, due to the inevitable voltage drops when current flows within a circuit, some 'ground' points will be slightly different to others. There may be several signal grounds in a circuit. Imagine if you had an amplifier with a voltage gain of 100 and you were amplifying a tiny signal, if the ground for the signal was elevated by just 0.01V the output would be wrong by 1V. Typically a signal ground would be a connection to the same stage of the circuit as the signal was connected.