Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Fitting Relay snubber.

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheFamousCash

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Please understand I have ZERO electronic knowledge.. First post requesting spelt out advice.

I have written a software program which includes the switching on/off of mains lights. Using UDUN 8R relays (purchased from Audon Electronics). Eventually, I got everything to work.

Problem is, lights are fluorescnt tubes. (125 watt). Apparently, ALL I need to do is put a "snubber" across the contacts to avoid the problem of induction load.

Everyone says it is simple. No one can tell my where I can get it dome.

Any help, please?

A snubber in this case is just a resistor and capacitor in series, wired across the relay contacts. You can buy them ready made as a single component with two wires. All you do is connect one to each side of the contacts.
The idea is they absorb the 'kick' of energy that might be produced as the contacts open, preventing or at least reducing the chances of sparking. This prolongs the contact life and helps to reduce the 'click' of radio interference that would be caused.

Typical values are 100 Ohms resistor and 0.1uF capacitor with a 250V or more AC voltage rating..

Brian.

Many thanks for your response. Much appreciated.