Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help me with a simulation of UHF bandpass filter in MWO

Status
Not open for further replies.

tuyoleni

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi guys

I am struggling with a UHF band pass filter. Here are the specs:

Passband frequency range: 416 - 458 MHz
Center frequency: 436.5 MHz
Stopband attenuation: 60 dB
Loss: 1 dB or better
Filter order: 3

I have done the simulation in Filter solutions and when I buid it it doesnt work. I please want if somebody can do the simulation in MWO office and see how it looks like. I am not experienced with MWO. Any suggestions are welcome.

Your comments and help will be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Re: UHF bandpass filter

60 dB attenuation at what offset from the center frequency?
This is very important to see if is possible to get these performances using order 3 filter.

Thanks Vfone for your reply The filter is for a receiver. The image frequency sits at 295 MHZ so it must atleast be attenuated by the 60 dB. Thanks

I would recommend to check the designs of 432 MHz filters in ARRL Radio Amateur's Handbook.
If you need to suppress 295 MHz by 60 dB, you can add a simple high-pass filter with a pole at that frequency.
I have made various similar filters by stacking two to four coaxial or stripline quarter-wave resonators with adjustable loop coupling. Each resonator is enclosed in a metal-sheet case approx. 12.5 mm (1/2") square and 2...3" long. Tubular trimmers are used to tune the resonators and wire loops for coupling. To adjust you need a sweep oscillator and a detector connected to an oscilloscope.