+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 2,309, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    128
    Helped
    15 / 15
    Points
    2,309
    Level
    11

    sigma delta psd simulation

    How do people estimate the effect of sampling switches noise on a cirсuit level? I was doing long transient simulations, than FFT and finally got PSD from which I could get the SNR and estimate SFDR.

    However it seems that transistor noise source are not included in transient analyses and Matlab behavioral simulations show that the thermal noise of the switches (and thus the size of the sampling caps) is important for the performance.

    Can anyone suggest a solution how to include the device noise in the final PSD of a sigma-delta modulator?

  2. #2
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 1,600, Level: 9

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,600
    Level
    9

    Re: device noise in sigma delta adc simulation

    you can learn more about noise in sigma delta modulater in the basic of data converter book.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 2,309, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    128
    Helped
    15 / 15
    Points
    2,309
    Level
    11

    device noise in sigma delta adc simulation

    2 refdv:

    I would be most happy if you could reference me to a book which explains my question!

    I thought I stated it pretty clear: how to include the effect of the sampling switches thermal noise (and OTA thermal noise) in the circuit simulation with Cadence?



  4. #4
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 3,469, Level: 13

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    370
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    3,469
    Level
    13

    device noise in sigma delta adc simulation

    The Model with support thermal Noise and Flick noise , You can check your model , AF is thermal Noise parameter , and Kf is flick noise parameter ,
    In the RF model , the Model always have the two paramter , But other is zero , It don't consider these



  5. #5
    Member level 2
    Points: 2,236, Level: 10

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    51
    Helped
    22 / 22
    Points
    2,236
    Level
    10

    Re: device noise in sigma delta adc simulation

    I use hspice only, I know in hspice you can not add device noise in transient analysis. The parameter AF and KF is just for ac analysis.
    I think the noise is to estimate, not to simulatie. You can reference to razavi's book for noise calculation.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Member level 1
    Points: 2,084, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    36
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    2,084
    Level
    10

    device noise in sigma delta adc simulation

    hi borodenkov,

    I'm relatively new in this. But when you say you did transient analysis and then FFT, you did it using cadence? Really like to know how you did it.



  7. #7
    Member level 1
    Points: 1,750, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    34
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,750
    Level
    9

    Re: device noise in sigma delta adc simulation

    if we design a adc or pll or opamp,
    is the noise analysis essential?



  8. #8
    Member level 5
    Points: 1,853, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    90
    Helped
    8 / 8
    Points
    1,853
    Level
    10

    Re: device noise in sigma delta adc simulation

    This paper may be helpful for you.
    http://www.designers-guide.com/Analysis/delta-sigma.pdf


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  9. #9
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 2,541, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    307
    Helped
    9 / 9
    Points
    2,541
    Level
    11

    device noise in sigma delta adc simulation

    using matlab is very good tools



  10. #10
    Member level 5
    Points: 2,468, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    90
    Helped
    11 / 11
    Points
    2,468
    Level
    11

    device noise in sigma delta adc simulation

    You cannot add switch on resistance to
    the transient simulation, the SNR that you
    extract from the simulation result is related
    to quantization noise and not any other noise sources
    (such as shot, thermal, flicker)
    In matlab your simulation result by adding
    gaussian random signal to the system
    can be somewhat correct, but you cannot do the same thing in hspice or cadence, because transient
    time step is not constant as oppose to simulink
    simulation (that introduce over or under estimation
    of the added noise whit respect to the sampling instant that you choose for fft).
    Only thing you can do, is the general noise analysis
    of an SC integrator (dont forget to multiply the analysis result by 2 because there is a systematic error of 6dB)



  11. #11
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 2,309, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    128
    Helped
    15 / 15
    Points
    2,309
    Level
    11

    Re: device noise in sigma delta adc simulation

    Thanks devrimaksin!

    Actually I've read the paper by Kundert (referenced above) and used the data obtained from the noise analysys of the integrator in Matlab.

    Please explain more about "a systematic error of 6dB" - I did not get it from the 1st time..

    Another thing - you've written
    SNR that you extract from the simulation result is related to quantization noise and not any other noise sources (such as shot, thermal, flicker)"
    I guess it should also include the errors introduced my analog imperfections - finite opamp gain & GBW etc..[/quote]



--[[ ]]--