Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Measure rf signals on oscilloscope

Status
Not open for further replies.

hatela

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hii all,
I am doing a summer rf project on cellphone booster, specifically a 850Mhz/1900Mhz bidirectional amplifier.
I am new to rf, just started self learning it. I have an oscilloscope 15Mhz BK precision 1477, I wanted to ask if it would be any use in measuring when I build a prototype board.

Thanks

Hi,
This Oscilloscope for ur project is very less use, but u can use this to measure DC values and also u can make use to measure RF power by means of external RF detector. build ur own RF detector by using simple Schottky diode and connect this ckt to o/p of ur amplifier to measure DC voltage equivalent of RF power.

regards
roshni

hatela

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
You need a scope whose BW is greater that the frequency of the signal you are measuring (assuming a simple sine wave).
So if you want to see 800-900 MHz signal in time domain you will need a scope with 1GHz of more BW.
The detector approach will not give you much information except that the signal is there with some XX amplitude/power.
And the diode approach works better with signal levels lower than about -20dBm.

Its so, he has a simple small bandwidth scope_I think in reality no chance to organize a higher bandwidth type, and 1 GHz so & so not.