+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member level 2
    Points: 1,804, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    42
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,804
    Level
    9

    How to decide of number of layers

    Could anyone tell me how to decide the number of layers?

    :)

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 36,491, Level: 46
    flatulent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    4,629
    Helped
    493 / 493
    Points
    36,491
    Level
    46

    Re: How to decide of number of layers

    For low frequencies two will work. For higher frequencies four is the minimum to pass EMI tests. From there it is the number of interconnects. Once you get into the ECL range and use differential pairs, you put them on inner layers between two ground planes.



  3. #3
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 2,635, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    115
    Helped
    8 / 8
    Points
    2,635
    Level
    11

    Re: How to decide of number of layers

    It really depende on the application, the cost restriction and complexity involved and of course the frequency wether it is Analog or Digital or mixed circuit.

    If you specify more maybe we can help with suggestions



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Member level 2
    Points: 1,804, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    42
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,804
    Level
    9

    Re: How to decide of number of layers

    Quote Originally Posted by gam
    It really depende on the application, the cost restriction and complexity involved and of course the frequency wether it is Analog or Digital or mixed circuit.

    If you specify more maybe we can help with suggestions
    My PCB is for 200MHz and digital circuit only.
    Thankz~~



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 5,440, Level: 17
    binu G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    501
    Helped
    12 / 12
    Points
    5,440
    Level
    17

    How to decide of number of layers

    for 200MHz u should go for atleast 4 layer, and may add up depending upon the net density.



  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 6,459, Level: 19
    mrcube_ns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    452
    Helped
    48 / 48
    Points
    6,459
    Level
    19

    Re: How to decide of number of layers

    Contact firms who will make your PCBs and ask them how many layers they can make so thats max num of layers which you can apply.

    In my country its 2 layers max.


    Mr.Cube



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 5,440, Level: 17
    binu G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    501
    Helped
    12 / 12
    Points
    5,440
    Level
    17

    Re: How to decide of number of layers

    Quote Originally Posted by mrcube_ns
    Contact firms who will make your PCBs and ask them how many layers they can make so thats max num of layers which you can apply.

    In my country its 2 layers max.


    Mr.Cube
    8O only two layers. so how u do highspeed design ckts

    binu g



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  8. #8
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 1,856, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    105
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,856
    Level
    10

    How to decide of number of layers

    signal speed, ref layers need, and crosstalk... etc.
    Good good study, Day day up!



  9. #9
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 1,558, Level: 9

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,558
    Level
    9

    Re: How to decide of number of layers

    I guess it's tightly depend on your voltage levels used.
    If the most of voltage levels are the same one, you can use 4layers.
    And if you need wire a lot of transmission lines to compensate impedence, maybe you need 6 layers. You can try and error.
    Good Luck.



  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 15,672, Level: 30

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,371
    Helped
    412 / 412
    Points
    15,672
    Level
    30

    Re: How to decide of number of layers

    The number of layers in a circuit board are determined by:

    1. Are you going to control impedance? If so, then you need a continuous reference plane adjacent to the controlled impedance signal layer.
    2. The number of layers should be even, and the core and prepreg dielectric thicknesses should be balanced. Odd number of layers, or unbalances thicknesses, in a stackup generally result in warping and/or cupping in the finished board.
    3. Are there critical traces that need to be isolated from other signals? If so, you may need to dedicate a layer to them.
    4. Are there multiple power supplies? If so, you may want to include a split power plane to distribute the power. The split plane should be adjacent to a continuous ground reference plane. High speed/critical signal traces should not be adjacent to the splits, because the return path will be interrupted.
    5. Will the frequencies used tend to radiate from the board? If so, you may need to flood the outside layers with grounded copper. The signal layers would then be internal, and you would still need to consider 1-4 above.

    As you can see, there is no cookbook answer - it depends on what you are trying to do (this is also called "engineering").



--[[ ]]--