Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

which tool can generate a sdc file

Status
Not open for further replies.

pathto_teraze

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I am totally new to soc encounter.
I finish synthesis in Design Compiler,
Now I am using soc encounter to do the place and routing of my design.
When I import the design, a sdc file is needed.

Could anyone tell me which tool generate this file?

Thank you.

The Design Compiler and PrimeTime both can write out the SDC file using write_sdc command, and the PrimeTime is usually prefered.

You need at least one SDC file for your design that's designer created that defines the clock pins and clock waveforms. From there you can use a tool like Design Compiler to write out an incremental SDC file. In Design Compiler, use the read_sdc file to read in your SDC file for your design. Then use the write_sdc command to write out an incremental SDC based on your design. Then in Encounter read in your SDC file with the loadTimingCon command.

The sdf files can be generated by either PT or DC. But, before writing the sdc file, you need to set all the constraints. The generated sdc file will contain only the constraints what you've set before writing the sdc file.

Again, ideally the designer should write the sdc file. If the designer more worried about the syntax, he can use the tools to write the sdc's.

Design Compiler generates SDC files (Synopsys Design Constraints)