Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Utilising Solar Power at the maximum. But how?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neha007

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hai Everyone. I have 4 solar pannels of 12 volts 40 watt each, and a 12 volt battery of 150Ah. I am new to the basics of utilising the solar power. Please guide me about what more i require, or how can make the maximum of the available resources.
My basic questions are, should i use independent solar charge controllers for each pannels? How are the controllers connected? How the inverter should be connected? I am in the process of making my house self sufficient with solar power for alteast Fan and lighting loads for 24 hours a day-365 days. Please guide me with your valuable responses sugessions, and experiences in the matter.
Neha

from solar panel --> charge controller --> battery.

individual controllers is easy for maintanence . but add up cost .

srizbf
15thmay2010

Hallo Neha!
Nice Idea! :)
As srizbf said, + use pls by the parallel connecting of your PV-panels pro panel a serial Schottky diode to separate the individual panels from others, so you will have the best charging if their will became nonuniformity...
Is your battery not a little underdimensioned pls?
K.

Thanks karez.