Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Common terms in PCB design

Status
Not open for further replies.

arunbhaskar

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello. I'm very new to the world of PCB design. I came across many terms related to PCB on the internet. Can someone clearly explain what each term means. If possible please provide explanation with pictures. The terms I came across are:
1)Component side
2)Solder side
3)Gerber
4)Via
5)Drill
6)Pads
7)Silkscreen
Also tell me if I need to know a few more terms related to PCB. Thanks.

arunbhaskar said:
Hello. I'm very new to the world of PCB design. I came across many terms related to PCB on the internet. Can someone clearly explain what each term means. If possible please provide explanation with pictures. The terms I came across are:
1)Component side
2)Solder side
3)Gerber
4)Via
5)Drill
6)Pads
7)Silkscreen
Also tell me if I need to know a few more terms related to PCB. Thanks.

Some of the terms look a little dated now with surface mount PCBs. If you think in terms of through hole components they will make more sense:

1. components go on the "top" of the PCB or component side
2. the soldering is done on the other side - the "bottom" or solder side
3. Gerber is the file format for the PCB manufacturing, excluding the holes/drilling
4. a via is a plated hole used to connect two sides of a PCB tracking (or to inner tracks)
5. "drill" or "NC drill" is the format for the hole drilling information for the PCB