Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electronics Enclosure/Front panel Design Software +tips

Status
Not open for further replies.

bt36

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello All,

I'm an electrical engineer, trying for the first time to build a hobby project
that might turn into a small to medium volume product. I have no idea
in mechanical engineering ...

I'll trying to find an enclosure for my product but keep running into considerable
difficulties ... My enclosure should be about 2U (3.5inch) high, about half-rack (10 inch or so), and depth something like 8 inch.

Can anyone recommend and easy to learn CAD software for enclosure and
front panel design? I've seen protocase's software but not sure it exports
something that I can send to manufacturers in China if I so choose.

I've tried taking standard 2U half-width rack but they cost allot (around 80USD)
at digikey, plus the custom front and end panels, might cost more than
the end customer would want to pay. The front and end panels should
have many holes cut out into them to accommodate upto 16 TRS stereo jacks
in the in the back panel, and many more in the front panel.

How much should such an enclosure cost? build using something simple, painted
white, but reasonbly good looking and reliable/durable? it's a desktop
instrument, so does not have to meet very harsh conditions....

Many thanks in advance !!

Hello bt36,