Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Tutorial how to program an ARM processor with an RTOS

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepillo

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I am new to ARM development, I would like to do an example project programming an RTOS into an ARM processor.
Where do I start? I would like to use Linux on ARM if possible, but other open source RTOS would be fine too.

I want to know how it´s done, what tools are used, where to download them, and once the RTOS is on the ARM, how to run an application like driving a graphic LCD or so...
What tutorials or apps notes can I read to start with?
Thx

A good place to start is winarm **broken link removed** . Its a free Arm C compiler, set of tools and example source code. I have recently started with Arm myself. Also its a good idea to have a cheap Arm development board. there are many available on ebay or from chinese websites. one such website is www.the0.net they have resellers on ebay.

The board that I have uses the LPC2132 and a Nokia 6100 color LCD. It also came with some basic driving source code.
However I found Keil to be a better C compiler. https://www.keil.com/

good luck!

pepillo

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
You need a cross compiler and source code of RTOS like uCOS-II that is ported to ARM

pepillo

Spiralbrain, what board are you using? that seems interesting.

What do you guys think about this development board to start with?

**broken link removed**

What would you recommend, AT91SAM7S256 processor or LPC2132?

Whats better, AT91 or LPC2000?

pepillo