+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie level 1
    Points: 485, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    485
    Level
    4

    Controlling Servo Futaba S3003 with PIC

    Hi,

    i'm trying to control a servo Futaba S3003 using a pic, i've been searching lot of information on how doing it, the thing is that it looks very simple but it just doesn't work and i can't figure why.
    I wrote the easyest code to make the servo spin right, left, and go to the center but it just turns to the right. I've tried all the kombinations of duty-cycle possible but he continues spining just to the right. Anyone had the same problem already ?

    Cumps.

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 49,672, Level: 54
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    keith1200rs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    10,877
    Helped
    2075 / 2075
    Points
    49,672
    Level
    54

    Controlling Servo Futaba S3003 with PIC

    Its a while since I have looked at RC servos, but they used to work from a 0.6ms to 2.4ms positive going pulse, I think. Have you checked your pulse on an oscilloscope to see what range you are using? I am not sure what repetition rate they need - what rate are you using?

    Keith.
    I started life with nothing and I've still got most of it left. (Seasick Steve)



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 252,684, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    44,016
    Helped
    13391 / 13391
    Points
    252,684
    Level
    100

    Controlling Servo Futaba S3003 with PIC

    50 Hz repetition rate is a standard, but it's not critical. With analog servos, the repetition rate possibly
    affects the servo gain, digital are mostly insensitive to it. 1.5 ms pulse width should move the servo to
    neutral position.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Newbie level 1
    Points: 375, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    375
    Level
    4

    Re: Controlling Servo Futaba S3003 with PIC

    Hello,
    I have 2 servoS3003 to lead 1 robot.
    But I have to send 1ms to the first SEROS3003 et 2mS for the second
    in a period of 50hz in the same time to move the robot forward.

    It is possible?
    I modified the servo so i can make a complete rotation.



  5. #5
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 1,744, Level: 9
    djsfantasi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Boston MA
    Posts
    107
    Helped
    20 / 20
    Points
    1,744
    Level
    9

    Re: Controlling Servo Futaba S3003 with PIC

    Take a look at this reference to servos on a robotics supplier site: What is a servo?
    -- dj



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  6. #6
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 1,165, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    6
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,165
    Level
    7

    Re: Controlling Servo Futaba S3003 with PIC

    If you have PIC16 you can use CCP module to create PWM by control frequency at 50 Hz(Period 20 ms) and control ON stage as you want.



--[[ ]]--