Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Build an USB coin acceptor that connects to the PC...

Status
Not open for further replies.

ericmar

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
usb coin validator

Hi huys, I'm a newbie here. I just need some helps on doing my small project. I'm trying to build an USB coin acceptor which interface with the PC and display the remaining credits on a LCD. However, I hv no idea on how to build the circuit for the USB interface. I think I will need to use a PIC, right?
Can anyone give me some helps?

Thanks a lot!

hi Friend ..
Listen that sounds like a nice idea.. whenever you deal with money is a good idea!!! Anyways .. here every bodyknows that in order to deal with a USB connection is better to go with a solution that is complete ,hardware + drivers .. There are several of those .. but the most obvious is FTDI from www.ftdichip.com .. they will provide the drivers for free.. So you wil be able to deal with just your project
idea .. otherwise .. dealing with drivers . can be a nighmare if is your first time . FTDI will provide you with samples .. and the chips are cheap !
good luck !

eltonjohn said:
hi Friend ..
Listen that sounds like a nice idea.. whenever you deal with money is a good idea!!! Anyways .. here every bodyknows that in order to deal with a USB connection is better to go with a solution that is complete ,hardware + drivers .. There are several of those .. but the most obvious is FTDI from www.ftdichip.com .. they will provide the drivers for free.. So you wil be able to deal with just your project