+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Newbie level 5
    Points: 782, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    10
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    782
    Level
    6

    spice code generation from cadence

    I have been working on a 16 bit DAC. Since the hardware is too big and more cycle times at the input, the simulation is taking a longer time(more than 5 days with pentium 4 processor and 4 GB Ram). Is it possible to generate Hspice code from the Cadence Virtuso schematic and simulate it from the HSPICE tool of synopsys.

    Please suggest some methods to make my simulation faster.

    akhil

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 51,294, Level: 55
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    erikl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    8,049
    Helped
    2630 / 2630
    Points
    51,294
    Level
    55

    Re: spice code generation from cadence

    Quote Originally Posted by akhilmukund
    Is it possible to generate Hspice code from the Cadence Virtuso schematic and simulate it from the HSPICE tool of synopsys.
    If you have an Hspice license within C@dence Virtuoso you can of course generate an Hspice netlist from the schematic. But I doubt it will run faster than on the Spectre simulator.
    With some editing, you could also convert a Spectre netlist into an Hspice one.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 49,672, Level: 54
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    keith1200rs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    10,877
    Helped
    2074 / 2074
    Points
    49,672
    Level
    54

    spice code generation from cadence

    I don't use Cadence but normally when I design DACs & ADCs I try to check the circuit with partial circuitry for speed. When simulating the full circuit it can be useful to limit the nodes you save values from to prevent the disk speed being the limiting factor (with a 16 bit DAC you could have rather a lot of nodes depending on the design).

    Keith.
    I started life with nothing and I've still got most of it left. (Seasick Steve)



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 37,231, Level: 47

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,009
    Helped
    1743 / 1743
    Points
    37,231
    Level
    47

    spice code generation from cadence

    You could also try to model things that are not critical to
    bandwidth or accuracy, more simply. Like, the front end logic
    probably could be verilog or veriloga. And of course for top
    level type simulations the whole DAC could be behavioral
    most likely.

    Knowing when to fight, and when to fake it, is key.



--[[ ]]--