+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member level 1
    Points: 1,046, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    34
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,046
    Level
    7

    measure Voltage and Current using 8051

    Hi every 1.
    I want to make Multimeter capable of reading max of 30 V DC and also make current meter capable of reading 15A Max.
    I have never worked on AVR or PIC.so far i have managed to make voltmeter using AT89C51 and ADC 0831 using voltage divider ckt that reads max upto 15 V. Please suggest me a solution.

    there is a ckt in ADC0831 datasheet by the name Digitizing Current Flow that has max of 2A should that work for current and can it be made to reach my required current??

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 1,786, Level: 9
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,786
    Level
    9

    measure Voltage and Current using 8051

    you can easily use voltage divider to sense voltage below 5V.
    For current, you may use a shunt resister or transformer (also good for voltage sensing).



  3. #3
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,164, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    71
    Helped
    14 / 14
    Points
    1,164
    Level
    7

    Re: measure Voltage and Current using 8051

    Regarding the current measurement circuit, are you going to power the multimeter from a battery so that your ground is floating? If not, i.e. if your multimeter and load share a common ground, you'll have to scale the voltage dividers at the input of the "Digitizing a Current Flow" circuit so that the ADC inputs don't go above 5V relative to ground. Maybe some zeners would be good here for additional protection.

    Then just scale the 0.1 ohm current sense resistor. Looks like you need about 13 mohm for 15A using the suggested voltage reference. Watch out though because you will dissipate a lot of power (about 3W) at that current. You can make the sense resistor smaller of course, but then your circuit has to be more accurate, so there's a tradeoff.

    Regards,
    Chris



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Member level 1
    Points: 1,046, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    34
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,046
    Level
    7

    measure Voltage and Current using 8051

    i am implementing it to hardware an i was wondering that what is its min level will it detect 0.1 A??



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  5. #5
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,164, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    71
    Helped
    14 / 14
    Points
    1,164
    Level
    7

    Re: measure Voltage and Current using 8051

    I'm not sure what you mean. Are you asking what the minimum detectable current is?

    If you keep the ~0.25V reference and use a 13 mohm sense resistor, then the resolution with an 8-bit ADC will be 0.25/(.013 * 256) ~= 75mA. So not very good. You might want to generate the reference with a DAC in order to measure current over different ranges, although you could run into accuracy problems unless you design carefully. Maybe somebody knows a better way to do this.

    Regards,
    Chris



  6. #6
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 689, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    6
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    689
    Level
    5

    Re: measure Voltage and Current using 8051

    you can use current sense amplifiers
    MAX472 -Maxim
    TSC1001 - STmicro

    or you can make your own amplifier using 2 OPAmps and 1 transistor.

    if measured current by MAX472 is converted in voltage 2,5 V and you are using 10 bit ADC (1 step = 4,8mV) you can detect without any error currents above 100mA



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 4,355, Level: 15

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    451
    Helped
    25 / 25
    Points
    4,355
    Level
    15

    measure Voltage and Current using 8051

    I'm in doubt for what charlyking says. I don't think transformer would work for DC signal as what ifithegr8 requires. Better use a shunt resistor, few opamps to amplify the voltage across this shunt, with multi-turn resistors (feedback + offset) to calibrate the output accurately. 0.1A resolution will be acheivable as 15/0.1 = 150 steps which is much less than 255 steps of 8-bit ADC ADC0831 the one ifithegr8 is using. But here u'll face one problem..... If polarity gets reversed....in that case you require 300 steps for which this ADC wont work.



  8. #8
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 2,589, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kolkata, India
    Posts
    263
    Helped
    21 / 21
    Points
    2,589
    Level
    11

    Re: measure Voltage and Current using 8051

    why not using Intersil 7107 for this?



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  9. #9
    Banned
    Points: 5,790, Level: 18

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    scotland uk
    Posts
    646
    Helped
    96 / 96
    Points
    5,790
    Level
    18

    Re: measure Voltage and Current using 8051

    you should use a SAR 16 bit a-d and some sort of switched in divide by stage
    then over sample and switch in the needed divisors using analogue switches
    using the sample and resample function

    as long as the resample frequency = 16 X 2 + ins depth and any needed lag

    your quids in to get a 32 bit value as a decadanal resultant /32 bit value

    youll get easily 100,000 volts or current or both to 1v or 1amppervolt
    or you can apply divisors to V=/32/=I in a linear fashon as decadanol steppings



    using 0- 10v as a sweep range = decade true results when digitising
    adding switched in shunts and V &| I dividers is the way

    a digital R2R and I2I ladders spring to mind using resistors

    same way any really 32bit accurate lcd volt or current meter works

    even 128bit values in v and i are possible but take 16 sar cycles X2

    basicaly unless you want to wait 1 second
    then an 8051 doest have the balls

    better to use a dsp @ 400 mhz some fpga or something as the core
    i remember 8051 is a synth core and runs at up to 1ghz on fpga??

    im sure im right
    this way you can have multiple r2r and i2i on say 4 or 8 or 16 a-d
    and get a .0000 0000 0000 0001v or amp or 1000,0000,0000,0000 accruacy

    here http://mondo-technology.com/super.html
    is a pic unit called a super probe
    i built one and its hand for computer work and low voltate
    but im sure you can extend the senario in your mind
    and seek the libs and code you needs
    together with adding some ideas from the above text
    to conduce your project

    if i can help let me know

    :D



  10. #10
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 507, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    PUNE
    Posts
    2
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    507
    Level
    4

    Re: measure Voltage and Current using 8051

    Quote Originally Posted by charlyking
    you can easily use voltage divider to sense voltage below 5V.
    For current, you may use a shunt resister or transformer (also good for voltage sensing).

    HIIIIIIIII
    I am also doing the same application.
    I have to only monitor the voltage level of car battery and give the low voltage alarm signal. Also monitor the startup voltage for the engine?

    Please help me regarding that........



  11. #11
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 1,021, Level: 7

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,021
    Level
    7

    Re: measure Voltage and Current using 8051

    Hello all,
    Always calculate least digit to measure i.e. if 30V = 30.0V or 30.00V? accordingly choose ADC. Higher resolution ADC will give more resolution but costs more. Current can be read with shunt resistor. scale resistor such that it should not load your circuit.
    ideally Voltmeter should have infinite input impedance and current meter should have zero input impedance.
    example:
    voltage range is 0 - 30.0V
    for 30V range minimum voltage is 0.1V = 100mV.
    with 7107 you can easily implement 30.0V full scale range.
    But make sure that your input impedance should be as high as possible >10M
    for current range is 0 - 2A = 0.000A to 1.999A
    then use shunt
    V = I*R
    R = V/I
    V = 2.00V full scale
    I = 2 A
    R = 2/2 = 1 Ohm
    note that this resistor is added into series with load. reducing resistor to 10 times is R = 0.1Ohm will need differential amplifier of X10.
    Always design such way that your inputs both high and low should be floating with your supplies.



--[[ ]]--