Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LED drivers. Why, how and what?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neha007

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a hobbyist in electronics with knowledge of circuits and fabrication. But lacking knowledge about this topic. I would be greatful if some one answers my silly questions mentioned below.
Today we have ample LED,s available in 1 watt, 3 watts and 5watts in "star" package with different optics. I recently bought a 1watt x 3 LED's fitted in a spot light enclosure. A driver is also supplied with that which connects to the 220 volts power source.
My question is when a LED can be lit with a series resistor to a DC or battery source, why we require a driver to drive the same? What is the advantage of using a driver? What is the function of a driver?
If i am intending to make a driver for 3watt Star LED, which will power it with 220 volts, How can i move ahead? Are there any reference designs or links?
What is the difference between a regular SMPS DC power supply and a LED driver? Can a SMPS power supply be used in place of a LED driver? If yes, How? and if no why?
Thanks lot...Neha

The LED doesn't really care where it's power comes from so the problem is how to efficiently provide it when the source is the wrong voltage.

Take a typical LED like you show, the forward voltage may be 6V and it's current requirement may be 1A, it varies from one type to another so I'm using these figures as an example.

If you just used a bridge rectifier and dropper resistor, it would need to be:

Resistance = V/I = (220 - 6) / 1 = 214Ω