+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 5,456, Level: 17

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    503
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    5,456
    Level
    17

    the op amp can process digital signals?

    I am wondering if the op amp can process digital signals.

    If it can do this processing which considerations I have to take care?

    Thanks

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Junior Member level 3
    Points: 1,050, Level: 7
    AdrianN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    27
    Helped
    14 / 14
    Points
    1,050
    Level
    7

    the op amp can process digital signals?

    It depends on what you consider processing. The Op Amp will consider the digital signal as analog one. If the Op Amp receives a 0...5V signal for example, it can amplify it, attenuate it, add another signal to it, subtract another signal, filter it, etc, whatever an Op Amp can do to a signal.

    If, by processing, you mean Digital Signal Processing, as in data processing, no, it cannot do it.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 5,456, Level: 17

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    503
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    5,456
    Level
    17

    Re: the op amp can process digital signals?

    I only consider use op amp to process digital clock signal.

    I am wondering if the processed digital clocks still can drive digital chip, such as the output current of opamp can meet the input current requirements of digital chip?

    Thank you again.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 38,233, Level: 47

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,185
    Helped
    1792 / 1792
    Points
    38,233
    Level
    47

    the op amp can process digital signals?

    I think that most op amps have slew rate limitations that
    a digital input buffer may not like, or be able to chatter
    against (slow dV/dt, time in linear window and ambient
    / self-switching noise).

    You would have to criticize the candidate op amp in this
    respect as well as its supply and drive attributes.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 5,456, Level: 17

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    503
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    5,456
    Level
    17

    Re: the op amp can process digital signals?

    I am using a op amp from Ti such as opa4658, the slew rate of it is 1700v/us.this

    but this opa4658 can soure current typically at 120mA, can I put a inveter such as 74HCT04 between the output opa4658 and digital input buffer?

    If the slew rate is lower than digital part, the digital chip is easy to latch up.

    But if my slew rate is higher than slew rate of digital input buffer, is it ok?

    Thanks for answers.



  6. #6
    Junior Member level 3
    Points: 1,050, Level: 7
    AdrianN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    27
    Helped
    14 / 14
    Points
    1,050
    Level
    7

    the op amp can process digital signals?

    OPA4658 output is bipolar, while the input of 74HCT04 is unipolar. So, make sure you limit the op amp output voltage to the positive region.

    Even so, you cannot just power the opamp between 0 and 5V, because the opa4658 output low level is about 2.3V from rail so the HCT04 will not be able to "see" a VOL level in its input. You will need to drop the op amp negative power supply input below ground by 2V to be able to drive the input of HCT04.

    Another solution is to use a different op amp like a rail to rail one, that can drive its output close to the rails. Make sure it has a good slew rate as previously stated.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Points: 251,591, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    43,812
    Helped
    13322 / 13322
    Points
    251,591
    Level
    100

    Re: the op amp can process digital signals?

    I can imagine many ways to interface an OP output to a digital circuit, first of all, it should serve a purpose.
    But I don't hear it from your considerations yet. What's the use of it?

    Some points, e.g. regarding relation of slew-rate, output current and latch-up sound simply wrong.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 5,456, Level: 17

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    503
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    5,456
    Level
    17

    Re: the op amp can process digital signals?

    AdrianN,

    Thank you so much for your suggestions.

    Best regards.

    Added after 2 minutes:

    I am using TINA to simulate my design.

    They look fine.



--[[ ]]--