Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

what micro-controllers are suitable for my needs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michael969

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I'm new in the embedded world, I hope you can help me to choose the right HW.

so, I'll try to describe my needs.

without getting into the technical requirements, the final product should be very small (disk on key size) and cheap. it should have usb connector and small amount of read/write storage (8MB, maybe less).

the technical details:
I want to write some simple program that will run on the micro controller (my program should run on a top of some basic operation system), the program should do some cryptographic stuff, so the CPU should be fast enough.

Another important requirement is standard OS, I really want to be able to develop in standard C code, on a top of a basic OS. so I need some micro-controller + development kit that already have some boot loader and standard operation system (I don't care if it's real time or not) .
I understand that linux is to heavy, so maybe vxWorks or something like that.

I hope it was clear enough, waiting for your comments.

mcu with CORTEX-M3 core or some ARM7 chip may be suitable.

Usually when i start a new design .One of my main concerns is the PRICE ..HOW MUCH can i AFFORD !. This is usually dictated by the amount of units that the design will be produced .Then and only then i start lookinf for the architecture than can MATCH my BUDGET ...NOT THE OTHER WAY AROUND ..
otherwise i will use a CRAY SUPERCOMPTER to count peanuts !

regards

eltonjohn: