Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Active Front End Converter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

stevendhansen

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
active front end

Hey guys...new poster here. I'm currently developing an active front end converter and I have some good ideas on how to design the power side, but I'm not sure about the controller. I am fairly new to this kind of design, but I have worked with active converters for years...

How is the controller typically implemented for active front end control? I would like to design a PID controller using an outer voltage loop and an inner current loop. If anyone has a block diagram, that would be perfect!

I have attached a my basic power schematic...

V1, V2, and V3 refer to the 3 phase line voltage.

Any thoughts?

active front end converter

Hi there, not sure if you are still looking for a reply as the post is fairly old.

Firstly are you looking at an analog solution or a DSP solution?

There are several ways the control system can be implemented but I will outline the basics of the more common methods.

The outer PI loop works on the voltage error to give a current command. At this stage forward compensation for load current can be implemented by using an extra PI loop to look at the error between the current command and the load current. The final current command is then multiplied by each of the phase voltages to give the desired phase current. Each phase then has a current control PI loop which works on the error between the desired and actual phase current to generate a PWM command to control the half bridge for that phase.