+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Banned
    Points: 8,487, Level: 22
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,180
    Helped
    37 / 37
    Points
    8,487
    Level
    22

    1kw smps

    Hello,

    I once Acceptance Tested An SMPS unit which was for supplying a TWTA.

    I was not allowed to see circuit diagrams due to confidentiality.

    The output of this SMPS was 13KV.

    It was said to be a 1KW SMPS

    ….The thing is, the unit was around 50cm by 42cm by 15cm.

    How could such a huge thing have been just 1KW ?

    What power rating would you think it was likely to be ?

    It was cooled by an internal fan, which wasn’t all that big –about 9cm diameter and 3cm deep.

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Member level 2
    Points: 1,155, Level: 7
    yus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    48
    Helped
    12 / 12
    Points
    1,155
    Level
    7

    smps 1kw

    just a guess, it maybe because it's a high volatge.
    so, to meet safety requirements (i.e. isolation) they must have large "space" between the components (and the pcb traces)..


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 7,503, Level: 20
    Awarapunshee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Some Where In Heaven
    Posts
    413
    Helped
    98 / 98
    Points
    7,503
    Level
    20

    cockroft-walton voltage multiplier

    What I think is that there must be a "Cockroft Walton Voltage Multipliers" it should be potted (epoxy etc). And it is control by some PWM SMPS.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Banned
    Points: 8,487, Level: 22
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,180
    Helped
    37 / 37
    Points
    8,487
    Level
    22

    1kw smps circuit

    yus:
    i believe you are right....though it still seems big?

    Awarapunshee:
    Most of their power supplies were indeed potted.....but for some reason this one was not potted......i dont know what those cockcroft's are but i sneeked a peep inside for a nanosecond or so and saw lots of diodes.



  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Points: 248,981, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    43,336
    Helped
    13173 / 13173
    Points
    248,981
    Level
    100

    smps 1 kw

    The unit should have a type plate (required by most safety regulations, e.g. UL).



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 6,467, Level: 19

    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    525
    Helped
    47 / 47
    Points
    6,467
    Level
    19

    Re: Physically huge SMPS is just 1KW ?

    one option wold be a Cockroft walton voltage multiplier ckt.
    assuming an input supply of 230V or 110 V the supply must have some kind of step up transformer to step up the supply to al least 4 or 5 kV. the next stage would be 3 or 4 stage a cockroft walton voltage multiplier which would give a output of 13 to 15 kV. CW type of supply can not have a high current(100mA) capacity with large no of stages. this kind of supply has no noise and would have large capacitors and diodes at the output stage.


    second option is a rectifier stage at input converting the AC in to DC. the DC is then fed to an inverter which will produce a high frequency ac voltage which could be then fed to a ferrite or Metglass core transformer. the output of the transformer is then rectified and filtered. this will have some mosfet or IGBT in the inverter stage. the regulation will be good in this stage.

    in both the cases the caseing would be large to acomodate the high-voltage requirement. due to high voltage insulation requirement either all transformers would be pot core or would have milar insulation. no oil cooling but air cooling.


    hock



--[[ ]]--